Free Concerts at the Altadena Main Library (600 E Mariposa St, Altadena, CA)

Sunday, March 27, 2022 at 3:00 pm

To Buzz or Not to Buzz, that is the Question:  Music for Brass Quintet

This is the second concert in a series presented by the newly formed Mt. Lowe Chamber Players. The first concert, a program for strings, was a huge success. Over a hundred and fifty people were in attendance. The brass players are hoping to expand those numbers by presenting a program that includes music by Bach, Sousa, and the most prolific composer of all time—Anonymous.  

Featured performers include Chris Price and Cathy Ryan (trumpets), Karen Klages (horn), Daniel Lawlor (trombone), P. Blake Cooper (tuba), and John Steinmetz (narrator). 

Sunday, May 1, 2022 at 3 pm
Classic Woodwind Quintets
"Wind Quintet" by Carl Nielson, "Sea Shanties" by Malcolm Arnold, "3 Pièces brèves" by Jacques Ibert, "Piccola offerta musicale" by Nino Rota, and "Three Brazilian Choros (arr by Frank Morelli). Larry Kaplan (flute), Michele Forrest (oboe), Jim Foschia (clarinet), Phoebe Ray (bassoon) and John Mason (horn)

Free concerts at the Altadena Community Church (943 E Altadena Dr, Altadena, CA)

Sunday, April 3, 2022 at 3:00 pm
Violin-Clarinet-Piano Trio
Irina Voloshina (violin), Michele Zukovsky (clarinet), Antoinette Perry (piano) playing the music of Mozart, Beethoven, Weinberg, and Bartok

Sunday, May 15, 2022 at 3:00 pm
String Quartet with Oboe
Agnes Gottschewski and Irina Voloshina (violins), Dmitri Bovaird (viola), Maggie Edmondson (cello), and Sarah Beck (oboe) featuring the Bax Oboe Quintet.



Free concert at the Altadena Main Library

Sunday, January 26, 2020 at 3 pm

Auspicious Beginnings:  Music for Strings

As they begin their hometown concert series, the Mt. Lowe Chamber Players will celebrate another type of beginning:  the earliest works of a young composer. What will you hear in the remarkable music of a teen-aged composer that forecasts even greater things to come?  The ensemble will present “String Sonata No. 3 in C Major” by Gioachino Rossini, “String Quartet in C Major, K.157” by W. A. Mozart, “String Quartet No. 1” by Charles Ives, “String Quartet No. 2 in A Major” by Juan Crisostomo Arriaga. 
Joel Pargman and Carrie Kennedy (violins), Dmitri Bovaird (viola), Delores Bing and Christina Soule (celli), Steve Edelman (bass)

Inaugural Benefit Concert at a Private Residence in Altadena

Sunday, November 17, 2019 at 3 pm

A private benefit concert to help launch a new Altadena chamber music ensemble 

"Beethoven Septet in E-flat major, Opus 20" with Irina Voloshina (violin), Dmitri Bovaird (viola), Maggie Edmondson (cello), Drew Dembowski (bass), Michele Zukovsky (clarinet), John Mason (horn), Phoebe Ray (bassoon) and featuring piano soloist Antoinette Perry performing Debussy Preludes "The Girl with the Flaxen Hair" and "General Lavine - Eccentric" with John Steinmetz (host).